BNP Paribas Tennis

BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global

Forward to a friendForward to a friend PrintPrint

The BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global is the WTA’s crown jewel event. Taking place from 21 to 28 October this year at the Singapore Sports Hub, the Finals sees tennis’ most spectacular women – the Top 8 Singles players and Top 8 Doubles teams – come to Singapore to contest the season-ending tournament for the coveted trophy.

After 54 Events and four Grand Slams held across 33 countries, only the top 8 in the world from both categories make it to the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore. Celebrated as the most prestigious and highly-anticipated tournament on the Women’s Tennis sporting calendar, this year’s festivities begin on Saturday, 20 October 2018 with the activation of the Fan Village. The competition kicks off the next day on Sunday, 21 October 2018, where there will be something for everyone in the family to enjoy.

Following the opening weekend, a week of spectacular showcases of talent, strength and skill ensues as the tennis legends battle it out on court. The Finals of the Singles and Doubles competitions will cap off the end of the week, on Sunday, 28 October 2018.

Hospitality Suite
Draw Ceremony
Draw Ceremony
Tennis Clinic


Official Name: BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global
About: The finale of the WTA calendar where the top eight singles players and doubles teams in the world battle for one of tennis’ most prestigious prizes
Official Website:
Ticketing Website:
Social Media: LinkedIn (
Twitter (@WeAreTennis)
Youtube (
Defending Champions: Caroline Wozniacki (Singles), Tímea Babos & Andrea Hlaváčková (Doubles)
Hashtag: #wtafinals
Dates: 21 October – 28 October 2018
Venue: Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore Sports Hub


  • 2018 is the 48th staging of the WTA Finals (debut in 1972)
  • Singapore is the first city in AsiaPacific to host the WTA Finals
  • 2018 marks the fifth and final installment in the tournament’s five-year journey in Singapore (2014-18)
  • Nine (9) different cities have hosted Finals: Boca Raton (1972-73), Doha (2008-10), Istanbul (2011-13), Los Angeles (1974-76, 2002-05), Madrid (2006-07), Munich (2001), New York City (1979-2000) and Oakland (1978)
  • 18 different winners in 42 stagings; of those 18 winners, 15 have been former world No.1’s, only exceptions were Hanika (1982), Sabatini (1988, 1994), Novotna (1997) and Kvitova (2011)
  • Players from 11 different nations have won the Singles: USA (17), GER (6), BEL (5), CZE (4), YUG (3), ARG (2), AUS (2), SUI (2), FRA (1), RUS (1), DEN (1)
  • Eight (8) players have advanced to the final on their Finals debut; only Serena Williams (2001), Maria Sharapova (2004) and Petra Kvitova (2011) won the title on their debut; Tracy Austin (1979 R-Up), Andrea Jaeger (1981 R-Up), Lindsay Davenport (1994 R-Up), Martina Hingis (1996 R-Up) and Simona Halep (2014 R-Up)
  • Simona Halep is the only player to have qualified for all five editions of the WTA Finals Singapore.

(click to enlarge)